Spend the day exploring the sights in and around Boggabri. Whether you visit them all or simply choose a combination of the attractions below, today’s tour will give you a great look at what Boggabri and its surrounds has on offer.
Tour – Day 6
(Original spelling Bukka–Bri)
Kamilaroi meaning: Place of Many Creeks
Boggabri was proclaimed a township in 1860, but came into its own in 1882 with the opening of the railway. Today Boggabri, located on the Kamilaroi Highway east of Narrabri, is a historic small country town with big community spirit offering a unique country lifestyle. With a rich agricultural history and several recently opened coal mines the town is set for further expansion. The town boasts a nine hole golf course and RSL Club. A modern motel, caravan park (with cabins), and a hotel provide accommodation in the town while fuel and motor repairs are also available.
The main business area of Boggabri has, over the years, been found in three different streets. This makes for an interesting mix of architecture, which can be explored with a walk along the Boggabri Heritage Trail.
Boggabri Historical Museum
Open: By Appointment
Location: Brent St, Boggabri
Phone: (02) 6743 4761
This fascinating time piece found in Boggabri’s second main street, Brent St, traces Boggabri’s evolution. With three main streets and the town’s relocation due to flood, Boggabri is a truly dynamic town. The Museum complex houses exhibits of precious memorabilia donated by Boggabri’s residents, past and present.
A self-walk Heritage Trail reveals many interesting highlights of Boggabri’s progress through history since its early beginnings. A brochure is available from the Whitehaven Coal office in Merton St or at the Museum in Brent St.
Boggabri Tractor Shed
Location: Cnr Brent and Wee Waa Sts, Boggabri
Open: Saturday Mornings 9am to 12pm or by appointment.
Contact: Geoff Eather 0448 011 940 Ron Boxsell 0427 434 487.
Email: [email protected]
People can put their tractors on display for a small fee and be members of our group $20 per year membership, insurance is up to the person displaying the tractor.
A guided tour is available. Cost is a $2 gold coin donation.
Boggabri Men’s Shed
The Boggabri Men’s Shed is run from the site of the Boggabri Historical Museum.
Open: Thursday and Saturday’s from 9am to 12pm.
The Boggabri Art Shed
Location: 173-175 Merton Street, Boggabri
Open: Monday – Friday, 9am – 5pm. Saturday: 9am – 12pm or by appointment.
Art and exhibitions. Contact Tammy for further details on Ph: 0407 604 379
Nelson’s Honey Factory
Chasing the sweeter things in life? It doesn’t get much sweeter than Nelson’s Honey Factory, 66 Lynn St Boggabri. This successful business venture emerged from Mike Nelson’s childhood hobby of keeping bees, and developed into one of the largest NSW suppliers to the Honey Corporation of Australia.
White and Yellow Box and narrow leafed Iron Bark are the major sources of honey extracted by the Nelsons, mainly from the Pilliga Forest, and the honey is superb!
Gin’s leap is located 50kms South East of Narrabri on the Kamilaroi Highway towards Boggabri.
This striking rock face, towering over the Kamilaroi Highway outside Boggabri, has been known by many names over the years.
Local Aboriginals knew it as “Cooloobindi” or “Gagabaayindaay”, whilst it was known as “Bullaballakit” in the era when Sir Thomas Mitchell was exploring the Namoi Valley. In Cobb and Co coach days, it was known as “The Rock” and now it goes by “Gins Leap”.
The widely accepted origins of the current name follow the tragic death of a pair of ill-fated young Aboriginal lovers, a modern day Romeo and Juliet. The young girl, promised to an elder of her tribe, the Kamilaroi, ran away with a young aboriginal man from another tribe. Hotly pursued by Kamilaroi tribesmen, the lovers jumped to their deaths from somewhere along the top of this rock.
Today, Gin’s leap stands as a silent sentinel over previous grave sites to the right, of four people, Mrs Russell, her 2-year-old son, John James and Mr David and Mrs Maria Grove. There is a picnic area and interpretive sign at the site where visitors can learn more about this iconic site.
Barbers Lagoon and Barbers Pinnacle
Local landmarks Barbers Lagoon and Barbers Pinnacle are located on the Manilla Road, just north of Boggabri, after crossing the Iron Bridge. They take their names from George “The Barber” Clark, the runaway convict who inhabited this area from 1826 to 1831. Clark has been sentenced to farm work in Singleton in 1925, following an armed robbery convictions. He later escaped and lived in the North West with the Kamilaroi people, who seem to have regarded him as one of their own returned from the dead. Clark
Barbers Lagoon is marked by a plaque on the right and notes the approximate location of Clarke’s hut and stockyards. The striking outcrop of rocks on the left, called Tangulda by the Kamilaroi Aboriginal people, is Barber’s Pinnacle.
A waterfall significantly more impressive than its name suggests, Dripping Rock is a growing tourism hotspot. A short walk from the carpark reveals a small, serene rock pool set at the base of a towering semi-circular cliff and surrounded by lush Melaleuca forest. Water seeps through sedimentary rock to drip down the 50m high wall, but cascades down into the rock pool after good rain. This is an idyllic sport for a picnic or to sit and listen to the hypnotic splash of water, melodious birdsong and wind in the trees. You can also swim in the pool on a warm day and walk along a small ledge running the length of the cliff, where you can shower in the refreshing spray.
Dripping Rock can be difficult to find and the road is 4WD only, so please pick up a map from the Visitor Information Centre or Boggy Bookshop.
Kamilaroi meaning: Swim away
Pronunciation: Barn Bar
Located approximately 30km north west of Boggabri on the Kamilaroi Highway, Baan Baa had early beginnings as a squatting run. Little remains of this previously bustling railway village, which once boasted its own bakery, two general stores, a stock and station agent, butchery, ice cream shop, hotel, two churches and a service station.
Baan Baa is now primarily a grain terminal, feeding in from the rich grain country surrounds. Consequently, this sleepy town starts to buzz during grain harvest. Newly opened coal mines in the vicinity may foster growth in the village, with brand new tennis courts perhaps serving advantage back to the Baan Baa’s court.
The Railway Hotel (Baan Baa Pub) offers accomodation and counter meals that are well worth stopping for.
After you cross the Harparary Bridge, take the Maules Creek road and head for ‘the hills’. Maules Creek is situated at the foothills of the Mt Kaputar National Park and is truly amazing countryside.
The rugged and enchanting landscape hides a deep rich black soil, perfectly suited to farming. As a result, the region harbours some of the country’s leading cattle studs. Water flows from the mountains, trickling through Melaleuca-lined creeks to arrive as clear as crystal. Many beautiful locations along the river provide captivating hideaways to have a picnic or just enjoy the presence of nature. The size and grandeur of the Nandewar Ranges viewed from the Maules Creek area is truly spectacular.
To the South of Maules Creek is Leard Forest. This forest is predominantly pine, iron bark and gum trees.